Domestic Violence Part II

Assault on a Woman’s Worth

What Protection Is Available Through The Legal System?

Violent outbursts can occur at any time and can escalate when a husband senses or is informed his wife is leaving. A wife who is wise will have prepared for the worst by having a safety plan for leaving. For a detailed list of strategies and legal system information, please contact Hope for the Heart toll free at 1-800-488-HOPE (4673) or http://www.HopeForThe Hear.org.

Is there A Root Cause For Domestic Violence?

Some people can’t comprehend the whys of abuse. Why does he do it? Why does she accept it? Within the heart of every person are three God-given inner needs-for love, for significance, and for security. At times we attempt to get our needs met illegitimately. The abuser abuses his victim in order to feel significant. The abused stays in the abusive relationship in order to feel secure-either because she feels she can’t live without him or feels terrified that the violence will escalate if she leaves him. God’s solution is that they both need to look to the Lord to meet their deepest inner needs.

The LORD will guide you always: he will satisfy your needs in a sun-scorched land and will strengthen your frame. You will be like a well-watered garden, like a spring whose waters never fail.

Wrong Belief of Abusers Who Abuse In Order To Feel Significant

  • “She’s to blame for what’s happening. As head of the home, she belongs to me. If I don’t control her, I could lose her, so I’ll do whatever it takes to show her who’s boss.”

Wrong Belief Of An Abused Person Who Accepts Abuse In Order To Fell Secure

  • “I’m to blame for what he’s doing to me. If I don’t give in to him, I could lose him. He is my  security.” Or, “If I don’t give in to him, he could kill me. Pleasing him is my only security.”

Right Belief Of The Abuser

“I am the only one responsible for my abusive behavior. She is not to blame. Even if I  lose her, I’ll never lose God. he is my source of significance and promises to meet my needs.”

” My God will meet all your needs according to his glorious riches in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4:19)

Right Belief Of The Abused

“I’m not to blame for my husband’s abuse. Even if I lose him, I will never lose Jesus, who liven in me. Because the Lord promises to be my provider, I will depend on Him to meet all my needs. The Lord is my source of security.”

“For your Maker is your husband- The LORD Almighty is his name” (Isaiah 54:5).

This entry was posted in Domestic Violence and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

